Video recovery resources

Click on the videos to hear about how recovery form a gambling problem is possible and to hear stories from people who have gone through the recovery process. Oregon Problem Gambling Resource: There is hope if you or a loved one is a problem gambler. This is what to expect when you call 1-800-MY-LIMIT Brian’s…

Bernie’s story

Bernie became a compulsive gambler after playing scratch-offs as a way to escape from stresses in his life. After attending a Gamblers Anonymous meeting, Bernie realized that he had to change. Through studying to understand his addiction and by helping others, Bernie was able to turn his life around.

Casey’s story

Casey started gambling at the casino for fun, but she just kept on chasing her losses, started binge gambling and ended up thinking that if she “worked hard” at gambling then she would get ahead. Now Casey has been going to GA meetings and reads other people’s recovery stories to get inspired and stay away from gambling completely.

Mary M’s story

Mary M got addicted to slot machines after playing them to numb the emotional pain in her life. Calling a help-line and using Internet support sites was a turning point. Whilst no single treatment or support service was the answer, all of them helped to set her on the path towards recovery.

Arnie Wexler’s Story

Arnie began gambling as a small child but his first big win at 14 was when it started to get out of hand. Later he got into a lot of debt and began stealing to gamble. Eventually, Arnie found out that he was not the only one with a gambling problem and with the help of some friends he gained hope and was able to stop. Arnie hasn’t gambled in 38 years.

Monday evening chat

This is an open chat for whatever you want to chat about. Everyone is welcome. You can drop by at 5pm EST for a GA type chat with Ken in the “Recovery” chat room or chat later in the “Monday Evening” Chat Room Drop by between: 6pm-8pm PST 7pm-9pm MST 8pm-10pm CST 9pm-11pm EST 10pm-12am AST…

Lisajo’s story

Story summary: Lisajo, gambled to try and forget about the issues in her life. After six years of gambling she realised that she had to stop and so she started attending Gamblers Anonymous (GA) meetings. Lisajo managed to quit gambling for three years and eventually stopped going to GA. Then one day, after a big argument with her brother, she had a relapse and gambled. However, the next day Lisajo was able to pick herself up again, she listened to gambler’s stories, went for a long walk, chatted on gamtalk, made up with her brother and continued on her recovery journey.